Home » Renat Bohdanov becomes the Seventh Ukrainian to win WSOP

Renat Bohdanov becomes the Seventh Ukrainian to win WSOP

Renat Bohdanov, became the seventh Ukrainian WSOPE Winner as he won the WSOPE Bracelet of the Series. The first bracelet winner of the 15 has been decided after the first week of action. There have some big changes also for the 2019 Player of the Year.

The Event 1 was for €350 only and that has been a point of discussions for the poker fans. Many say that it is too cheap for a world series. They believe that players should build the bankroll for the bracelet events. However, many others see it as new level of accessibility to the game. The point was proven right by Renat Bohdanov, as he defeated Norbert Mosonyi, in the Opener. He also won the Main Event Ticket worth €10,350 and the top prize of €53,654.

Bohdanov even outperformed Jeff Lisandro who won the WSOP events multiple times. Lisandro eventually finished at the 8th place. He in fact finished one place better than Richard Vymeris. Samuel Mika’s Pocket Queens outlasted Lisandro’s Ace Seven move and he was eliminated.

Mika had however tough competition ahead. He cashed €12,138. He outlasted Rafi Elharar who finished 7th and won cash of €6,651. He also defeated Michal Kral who finished 6th and won €8,923.

There were then only four players remaining. The fourth to go from the game was another Ukrainian, Mykhailo Hryhoriev followed by Eyal Bensimhon. Eyal cashed €23,386 before leaving the game.

It was all down to Norbert and Renat at the end. Even though Renat was making great moves, Norbert did not let it go so easily. He in fact got Chip Lead twice, but unfortunately could not hold on to it either of the time. The Ace-Nine move of Renat then proven to be too much and he sealed the title and the bracelet at the end.

The following table is the list of the final result.

Player Name

  • 1
    Renat Bohdanov
  • 2
    Norbert Mosonyi
  • 3
    Eyal Bensimhon
  • 4
    Mykhailo Hryhoriev
  • 5
    Samuel Mika
  • 6
    Michal Kral
  • 7
    Rafi Elharar
  • 8
    Jeff Lisandro
  • 9
    Ricardas Vymeris

With this the Player of the Year standings got impacted. Chris Ferguson is now out of the Top 10. Shaun Deeb however has consolidated points and is just 15 points away from the top slot.

Here is the updated points table for Player of the Year


  • 1
    Robert Campbell
  • 2
    Shaun Deeb
  • 3
    Daniel Negreanu
  • 4
    Daniel Zack
  • 5
    Phillip Hui
  • 6
    Jason Gooch
  • 7
    Anthony Zinno
  • 8
    Joseph Cheong
  • 9
    David “ODB” Baker
  • 10
    Ismael Bojang

Source: https://calvinayre.com/2019/10/18/poker/wsop-europe-round-up/


About the author

Debopom Sanyal

Debopom Sanyal

Debopom is a web journalist and news enthusiast. He has been writing about world politics, science, health, finance, and technology. An avid sports enthusiast, Debopom has done his Masters in Finance and Bachelors in Engineering.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

The following GDPR rules must be read and accepted:
This form collects your name, email and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our privacy policy where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.