WSOPE Player of the Year – Contenders for the Crown

Home » WSOPE Player of the Year – Contenders for the Crown

This year WSOPE has been thrilling and exciting. There are unexpected names at the leaderboard for the Player of the Year. At the same time, some expected names are missing. Few players are too rigid to fade away even in this series. There are many contenders for this series and of course, the competition is very close and still very much alive.

Here is the breakdown of the list who might win the prestigious top place this year.

Daniel Negreanu

He might become the winner this year. However, irrespective of the result, he is certainly going to be the best player in the series. Even though he is not leading with a very large margin, but he has played efficiently. He is certainly one of the most entertaining performers even off the Poker Field. So, from social media to the WSOPE field, he is certainly one of the best names in this series.

Robert Campbell

He has won a double bracelet in Australia and looks quite poised to win the WSOPE Player of the Year as well. He is in the second position and has all the chances to unseat Daniel Negreanu. It will be a hard challenge after 14 of the 15 events are completed, but the chance is for real. He, however, has to defend his position as well from Deeb who is marching ahead with points as well.

Shaun Deeb

The defending champion might not be as effective as he was last year, but he is a force to be reckoned with. He is still best in the Mixed Games and with time left for the competition to wind up, he might in fact look to upset Daniel to take back his crown of the Player of the Year. However, it isn’t going to be very easy, but with Deeb, one never knows.

Anthony Zinno

One may not consider him as the contender for Player of the Year, but he has got all the chances to do it. He has won two bracelets before 2019. He even though ran to the front runners in the Main Event but he has been close in fact very close. He is a surprise package of the lot and can in fact turn the tide towards him.

Here is the current standing for the Player of the Year


  • 1st
    Daniel Negreanu
  • 2nd
    Robert Campbell
  • 3rd
    Shaun Deeb
  • 4th
    Phillip Hui
  • 5th
    Daniel Zack
  • 6th
    Kahle Burns
  • 7th
    Dash Dudley
  • 8th
    Chris Ferguson
  • 9th
    Phil Hellmuth
  • 10th
    Anthony Zinno


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The following GDPR rules must be read and accepted:
This form collects your name, email and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our privacy policy where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.